• Blog Stats

    • 1,005,136 Sessions
  • Archives

Ultimate Comics X #2 – Who is Karen Grant?

Ultimate Comics: Ultimate X "Karen"

Ultimate Comics X "Karen Grant"

Who is Ultimate X “Karen Grant”?

I originally thought this black haired beauty was Ultimate universe’s Wicked but after reading the recently released previews (full of red herrings), I’m pretty sure it’s Ultimate Jean Grey. Green eyes, Cyke’s visor, dying her hair (which by the way looks better) it’s gotta be Jeanie.

I like Ultimate Jean Grey alright  but she never really jumped out at me. It always felt like they gave her a haircut and rehashed everything from 616. There was nothing new or really excited about her that I couldn’t already get in classic X-Men comics. In fact, when all the Ultimate X-Men were being killed off, I wished Jean Grey would’ve died instead of punk rock Dazzler or crazy Gambit-eyed Psylocke. However, after reading the first four pages of Ultimate Comics X #2, I have to say I’m impressed yet again by Loeb.

Oh Ultimate Cyke! I'm so glad you're dead.

Oh Ultimate Cyke never come back. EVER!

I KNOW! He’s evil and a terrible Marvel comic writer and ignores history, personality, and powers so he write them like DC Comic characters but he’s doing really good work in Ultimate Comics X. It’s like he heard all the bitching and decided he’d actually try and write something worth reading for Marvel.

My only concerns with Ultimate Jean Grey is another Dark Phoenix storyline or something equally dumb that only Loeb could dream up.

I don’t even know Ultimate Comic X’s Karen but I like her better 616 Jean Grey. I like her a lot and I actually want her to do something other than be Cyke’s girlfriend, Wolverine’s naughty girl, or planet-destroying Phoenix. I mean who is Jean Grey when she’d not all those things? The 90’s era Jean Grey who was dull as a door nail and her only development was getting married? Or 00’s era Jean Grey who got all White Phoenixy after allowing her husband to continue his affair? Or is she just that red-head telepath/telekine who is potentially the most powerful out of the original five?

I mean who the fuck is Jean Grey?

I certainly never known and I think this is an opportunity for Marvel to flesh her out even if it’s only the Ultimate version.

Jean Grey, like many other female character, seems to be defined by her powers (see Rogue) or the men in her life (see Invisible Woman). I see Loeb taking both Scott and Logan away from her allows her the chance to shine and be a character who can stand on her own. Ultimately (pun not intended) it would be nice to know what she likes (besides mythological birds and hairy Canadians).  Is that too much to ask for?

Wicked Sweet

I swear this looks like Wicked's powers.

2 Responses

  1. Dude, may I ask U since it’s hard to find this comic in my country, did Karen and James will be the new couple? I mean come on….

Leave a Reply

