• Blog Stats

    • 1,000,078 Sessions
  • Archives

WTUL is Racist, Just ask Rock N Roll Nigger.

So last Saturday I was listening to the local college radio station – WTUL as Dan and I some times do while playing Gin Rummy (yes, we are 95 year old Jewish women) and I distinctly heard the DJ of said radio station say – “Up next we have Rock N’ Roll Nigger”. I stopped what I was doing, looked at Dan and asked him –

Did dat nigga just say ‘nigger’ on the radio?

I know what you are going to say – you have a problem with the word “nigger” being used even though you use the words “nigga”, “nigra”, “mad niggerish” and a bunch of other variation of that term in your day to day vocabulary.

Not to sound like one of “those” black people –  Yes. I feel I can use the word “nigga” to my heart’s content because it is a part of my culture and honestly I use them on everyone – every Jewish, faggish, and African descendant person I know is my personal “nigga”.  When I use the term I know 1) I’m not responsible for anyone but myself and 2) I’m black and I know the difference between “nigger” and nigga”. So to hear a DJ on a local college station use the “er” version of the word on public radio – no bueno.  I’m calling a no bueno not for me, but for every black person who pays to not only attend Tulane University but to kept their radio station in racial insults.

After gathering myself together I immediately called the station and very politely (yet matter of factly) asked that the DJ not use that word on air (if it gets bleeped out of black stations, college stations are fair game too).  Before he could explain why it was ok for him to use the term (as if explaining to black folks why you can use nigger works for white people ever), I hung up and thought it was over.

Five songs later, he’s back on air and comparing me to Tipper Gore and explaining how punk music is about being offensive.  🙄

As a nigga who loves 80’s punk (it was the reason I was listening to the college station in the first place), I was fucking PISSED that this DJ who I was polite to tried to put me on blast.

I ended my game of Gin Rummy (in an overly dramatic way) and proceeded to write this e-mail to the show’s producer:

Click to Enlarge

Click to Enlarge

After writing the email, I honestly forgot because I have a life and it wasn’t the first time I heard a white person use the “er” word before. I sit at my computer today and what do I see?

This:

Click to Enlarge

Click to Enlarge

All I have to say is dis nigga right here, dis nigga right here… actually I’m not going to say a word.

I’ll let my fellow Jew and beloved nigra entertainer, Sammy Davis Jr., handle this one.

davis-sammy-jr

Leave a Reply

