• Blog Stats

    • 998,670 Sessions
  • Archives

Panic on the Streets of NOLA

Rue Bourbon

People throw up a lot here.

So, I’m in my bathroom and out of the blue I had the worst panic attack of my life. I can’t even remember when the last time I had a panic attack but there I was sitting on my bathroom floor thinking that my body was overheating while my cats stared aimlessly at me.  After being nudged a few times, I stood up and made my way to my bedroom and just collapsed  and panted heavily. Dan, calm and collected as always, told me to breathe while he got me something to drink. Twenty minutes and a orange Powerade later, I’m fine. 

The funny thing is I don’t remember what caused me to have a panic attack. It could be the medical journal I was reading but I assume it is financial stress. I’m not in the poor house but I feel like I’m barely making ends meet and while Dan, by way of his family, seems to have an endless cash reserve, I’m not so fortunate. I’m just glad my taxes are paid, my student loan has a low interest rate, and my credit limit is minimal, or I could be in an even worse position right now. I could have been in my bathroom with the lights out cutting myself to Morrissey. How dreadful.

Leave a Reply

