• Blog Stats

    • 1,001,191 Sessions
  • Archives

Homo-Erotic 80’s Bands Reborn?

Has anyone else realized the massive wave of homo-erotic music lately?
The Killers, Louis XIV, and Franz Ferdinand especially (though Maroon 5 deserves a nod).

I’m not complaing because these bands are among my favorite pop music bands as of current but I want you to read some lyrics and then a statement the lead singer/lyricist of Franz Ferdinand Alex said in a statement about this song called “Michael”:

“We wanted to get this total sparse metronomic industrial feel and thrust it inside a dancefloor situation. Because this track’s about the dancefloor and characters we knew on the dancefloor. Some people have taken a homoerotic interpretation for this song, so take it which ever way you want. I think ambiguity is a good thing in pop music, because then the lyrics belong to the listener rather than the person who wrote them.”


These guys are so The Smiths-Lite

Yeah ok maybe the listeners of their music are just reading too much into it. Maybe it is like the highly ambigous lyrics of The Killers’ Mr. Brightside where you are unsure if the persona is more upset at this woman being touched by this man or this man being touch by the woman. I’ll let you judge before I go on.

This is where I’ll be, so heavenly
So come and dance with me Michael
So sexy, I’m sexy
So come and dance with me Michael

I’m all that you see, you wanna see
So come and dance with me Michael
So close now, so close now
So come and dance with me
So come and dance with me
So come and dance with me

Michael, you’re the boy with all the leather hips
Sticky hair, sticky hips, stubble on my sticky lips
Michael, you’re the only one I’d ever want
Only one I’d ever want, only one I’d ever want

Beautiful boys on a beautiful dancefloor
Michael, you’re dancing like a beautiful dance whore
Michael waiting on a silver platter now
And nothing matters now

[backwards]
Call your mother, she’s worried about you

This is what I am, I am a man
So come and dance with me Michael
So strong now, it’s strong now
So come and dance with me Michael

I’m all that you see, you you wanna see
So come and dance with me Michael
So close now, it’s close now
So come and dance with me
So come and dance with me
So come and dance with me

Michael, you’re the boy with all the leather hips
Sticky hair, sticky hips, stubble on my sticky lips
Michael, you’re the only one I’d ever want
Only one I’d ever want, only one I’d ever want

Beautiful boys on a beautiful dancefloor
Michael, you’re dancing like a beautiful dance whore
Michael waiting on a silver platter now
And nothing matters now

Michael, you’re the only one I’d ever want
Only one I’d ever want, only one I’d ever want
Michael, you’re the only one I’d ever want
Only one I’d ever want, only one I’d ever want

Beautiful boys on a beautiful dancefloor
Michael, you’re dancing like a beautiful dance whore
Michael waiting on a silver platter now
And nothing matters now
Nothing matters
Nothing matters, oh yeah

Anyway I bet you are as confused as to how Alex could say this lyrics were about anything other than a man (possibly straight or questioning) being in love with this sexy,leather pants wearing homosexual named Michael.

Am I insane or is this song very gay? Because what I know from the english language and rational thought tells me it is a song about gay homosexuals dancing.

Oddly enough this reminds me of Morrissey in his early Smith days as well as Boy George in Culture Club. It is like “Dude we know your songs are about gay things and it is ok. We promise you will have life-long fans. You don’t need to give us this ambigous Prince* bullshit.”

*This comment is in no way intended to disrespect those Prince-loving people. Hell I’ve been known to party like it is 1999 every other night of the week.

Leave a Reply

